• Go to Home Page
  • Go to Staff Login
Catalogue Search:          Advanced Search

 

Allison Databases and Instructions
 

Allison Library Electronic Resources:

(Journals, Indexes, Databases and more)

The Allison Library provides a number of e-resources including databases and e-books, some of these are available through remote access while others are only available in the library.

The databases are freely accessible to anyone in the library or through the Regent wireless within the college.  Outside Regent College usernames and passwords are needed to access the online databases. Current Regent or Carey students can request usernames and passwords at the library circulation desk. [Note there are separate usernames and passwords for each database)

EBSCO:

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Christian Periodical Index
New Testament Abstracts (NTA)
Old Testament Abstracts (OTA)

GUIDE to using both the Allison & UBC Library EBSCO databases

ProQuest Religion Database:

Articles from over 120 journals covering religious issues and perspectives. Includes religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history and archeology, and formal theological studies. Primary faiths represented are Christianity, Islam, Judaism and Buddhism. Includes many full text articles.

Religious and Theological Abstracts:

Indexed since 1958 and updated annually, RTA provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. Abstracts from a wide variety of periodical literature including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions are available in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, or major European languages.

E-Resources (only in the Allison Library)

Accordance Bible Software

Allows user to explore the text and the background of the Bible: display multiple Bible texts and translations side-by-side; look up the original Greek and Hebrew words and their definitions; find passages from the Old Testament that are quoted in the New Testament; look up parallel accounts in the Gospels, Epistles, and Hebrew Bible, etc. Available only in the Allison Library.

E-Books

There are currently 15 e-books available to view from a dedicated computer in the Allison Library.  The current collection includes the JPS Torah Commentaries, The JPS Bible Commentaries of Jonah and Haftarot, JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh, and six titles from the JPS Library of Jewish Classics such as "The Treatise Ta'anit of the Babylonian Talmud".

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

A research centre at the University of California (Irvine), TLG has already collected and digitized most literary works written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Access is available in the library only.