Library Research Guide
Once you have identified a subject/ topic to write about, use a variety of resources in your research. The following are research tools to provide a wide range of resources necessary for graduate level work.
Step 1. Reference Resources
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographical reference provide broad overviews of a topic allowing you to understand the concepts and terms of your subject area, which can then be used to further your research. Often good introductory bibliographies are provided at the end of each article.
Step 2. Theolog: The Library Catalogue
Use Theolog (the Allison Library online catalogue) to find a listing of books, reference books, tapes, CDs, and videos held in the library. Searching by 'subject' is more effective than 'keyword' searching.
Regent students can use their Allison Library Card to borrow items from VST and St. Mark's College Library.
Step 3. Journal Article Indexes
Journal articles may be found through electronic computer indexes / databases or printed indexes. They can be found at the Allison Library or through UBC Libraries. For more information see Finding Journal Articles
Some UBC indexes and databases useful to Regent students include: (for a more detailed list, see 'Databases by Subject' )
ATLA with ATLASerials NOTE: UBC only subscribes to this EBSCO religion database. The Allison Library subscribes to five (5) EBSCO religion databases.
Academic Search Premier: ". . . more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."
JSTOR Collection: a multi-disciplinary, full-text database with hundreds of journal titles, generally providing a back run from a particular journal's inception.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association): [for literature] ". . . produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. [And] . . . provides access to scholarly research from 4,400 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats."
Philosopher's Index: The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Project MUSE: ". . . is a joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU, providing online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. [And] . . . provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: The PQDT database contains over 2 million records. Doctoral dissertations: 1861 - present; masters theses: 1988-present (selective coverage, since many institutions do not submit their masters theses for inclusion.) Online abstracts for dissertations provided since July 1980; full-text since 1997. PQDT covers more than 90% of North American doctoral dissertations plus growing international coverage.
WorldCat: [bibiographic information only] The leading bibliographic database in the workd and contains over 46 million records worldwide. An excellent resource for searching what is available in your subject area, as well as providing complete bibliographic information for those citations you forgot to write down. A limited free version of WorldCat is now available.
Step 4. Other Internet Resources
One of the best websites for theological research is the Wabash Center which offers an annotated directory of sites pertaining to theology and religion.
See also the Allison Library page Online Reference Resources page for more free sites.